This is me

November 10th, 2015

In an attempt to read more international writers, and recruit more readers:

“Reading Around the World, & Traveling One Page at a Time”

Reading Around the World jpeg

October 24th, 2015

An Ode to Edwidge Danticat’s “Create Dangerously.”

Create Dangerously – Danticat

Create Dangerously - Danticat jpeg

January 20th, 2013

It’s a brand new year, with brand new beginnings. I am still in the Bay Area, teaching and learning, making friends, and losing friends, enjoying the cool weather, mourning and celebrating, and at last, gearing up for a new year with new adventures.

In this moment, I am very aware of the power of me, and the power that me has over those small moments we call seconds, which eventually turn into something larger, and eventually turns into memories. Bottom line is, I am quite aware at this moment of how much I can do for myself, despite anything and everything and nothing all at the same time. I know I sound cryptic, but it must be so. For now.

I am starting with simple goals this year:

  • To enjoy life
  • To enjoy the world of reading, which triples the lives I lead, and the lives I enjoy
  • To enjoy the presence of others, in other places
  • To enjoy the earth, and the things it wants to give
  • To gain everything that is freely given
  • To lose nothing I never could keep forever
  • To love not with reckless abandonment but with full awareness and feeling
  • To be truthful to myself and to others, and in doing so, to trust
  • To remember the thread that binds me to us all, and us all to me, and to it, and to them, and to you, and to me, and in so doing, never forgetting to remember who I am and why I am

Helida

June 9th, 2011

Recently I ran into a petit dilemma: my brain began churning ideas left and right regarding all the things I love-writing, visual arts, reading, arts and crafts, and so on, but the ideas were not materializing. Alas, I figured it out, the problem lay in the lack of motivation and incentive to continue creating, and evolving. It then hit me, after several suggestions from a younger and more precocious sister, that I should open up my creative process to the outside world where perhaps a sense of duty would fire me up.

I recently moved to the Bay Area from the Bean Town (Boston), and as can be imagined, am completely inundated by everything new and edgy. From the eclectic Haight Street with its spirit of counterculture brimming at the top, to the scenic shores of Ocean Beach marked by the subtly sublime Sutro baths, to the Castro with its amazing history of poise and battle, and Market Street with its share of arresting characters; San Francisco is an artist’s paradise and I intend to take full advantage, and bring you along for the ride.

My goal is to bring together all of my passions, and share them with you. Hopefully you’ll enjoy them as much as I will.

                                                                   

Stay tuned.

                                      Helida

                                                   

1 thought on “This is me

  1. All the best in that goal, I remember how amazed I was by San Francisco’s richness of culture and creativity the first and only time I visited. You should get a bike!

Leave a comment